Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeLatest NewsEntertainmentECP unveils by-polls schedule for national, provincial assemblies

ECP unveils by-polls schedule for national, provincial assemblies

A file photograph of a poll paper. — AFP
  • By-elections to be organised on April 21.
  • By-polls to be held on 6 NA, 17 PA seats.
  • 239 candidates going to take part in polls.

ISLAMABAD: The Election Fee of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday introduced schedule for by-polls on six Nationwide Meeting and 17 provincial meeting seats which might be held on April 21.

The highest electoral physique issued a notification concerning the election programme for vacant NA and PA seats the place reelection might be organised subsequent week.

In accordance with the notification, the by-polls might be held on six NA, 12 Punjab Meeting, 2 Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Meeting, 2 Balochistan Meeting, and one Sindh Meeting seats.

A complete of 239 candidates had been going to take part within the forthcoming by-elections, together with 50 contenders for NA seats, of which Pakistan Peoples Get together chief Aseefa Bhutto-Zardari was elected unopposed in NA-207 constituency.

One other PPP chief Zubair Ahmed Junejo was additionally elected with out going through any contest on PS-80 Dadu seat.

Subsequently, 23 candidates had been contesting by-polls for KP Meeting seats, 154 candidates for Punjab Meeting seats, and 12 candidates for Balochistan Meeting seats.

The ECP spokesperson mentioned polling materials has been supplied to the provincial election commissioner, whereas, all district returning officers (DROs) and returning officers (ROs) had been fulfilling their duties in accordance with the by-polls’ schedule.

Moreover, the printing of poll papers was continued since March 30, he added.

The spokesperson mentioned that the fee was additionally involved with the inside, defence ministries, and provincial regulation enforcement companies (LEAs) for peaceable conduct of the by-elections.

Constituencies the place by-polls are being held

The NA seats on which by-elections will happen embrace NA-8 Bajaur, NA-44 Dera Ismail Khan-I, NA-119 Lahore-III, NA-132 Kasur-II, NA-196 Kamber Shadadkot-I and NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad-I.

The elections on NA-8 Bajaur and PK-22 Bajaur-IV had been suspended after a candidate contesting as an Prime Time News24 on these constituencies was was shot useless.

In the meantime, NA-44 seat fell vacant after newly-elected KP Chief Minister Ali Amin Gandapur opted to retain his provincial seat from DI Khan.

The NA-119 Lahore-III seat was vacated after Maryam went for the provincial seat which she had received, whereas NA-132 Kasur fell vacant after Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif determined to retain his NA-123 Lahore-VII seat.

PM Shehbaz had additionally received on Punjab Meeting seats — PP-158 and PP-164 — however since he opted his NA seat, the provincial meeting seats had been left vacant.

Furthermore, the NA seats from Sindh’s constituencies, NA-196 Kamber Shadadkot-I and NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad-I, had been vacated after Pakistan Peoples Get together (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto retained the seat he received in Larkana, whereas President Asif Ali Zardari gave up his seat following his election as the pinnacle of state.

The opposite provincial meeting seats on which by-polls might be held embrace Punjab’s PP-22 Chakwal-Cum-Talagang, PP-32 Gujrat-VI, PP-36 Wazirabad-II, PP-54 Narowal-|, PP-93 Bhakkar-V, PP-139 Sheikhupura-IV, PP-147 Lahore-III, PP-149 Lahore-V, PP-158 Lahore-XIV, PP-164 Lahore-XX, PP-266 Rahim Yar Khan-XII, PP-290 Dera Ghazi Khan-V; KP’s PK-22 Bajaur-IV, PK-91 Kohat-II; Balochistan’s PB-20 Khuzdar-III, PB-22 Lasbela; and Sindh’s PS-80 Dadu-I.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments