Saturday, May 18, 2024
HomeLatest NewsEntertainmentECP all set for Sunday's by-polls in 21 constituencies as electioneering to...

ECP all set for Sunday’s by-polls in 21 constituencies as electioneering to end tonight

A person places his thumb impression on e-book earlier than issuance of poll paper throughout common elections in Islamabad on February 8, 2024. — On-line
  • Violators to resist 2 years jail, Rs100,000 effective, or each.
  • PPP’s Aseefa, Zubair elected unopposed in NA-207, PS-80.
  • 239 candidates going to take part in Sunday by-elections.

The Election Fee of Pakistan (ECP) issued a reminder to candidates, beneath Part 182 of the Election Act, 2017, concerning the electioneering deadline which is ceasing on Friday at midnight forward of by-polls in 21 nationwide and provincial meeting constituencies throughout Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP), and Balochistan on Sunday (April 21).

In accordance with election laws, campaigning will stop exactly at midnight between Friday and Saturday (April 19-20).

The highest electoral physique cautions that candidates partaking in political actions after the deadline will face authorized penalties.

The aforementioned provision of the Election Act prohibits people from organising, attending, or collaborating in any public gatherings or processions inside the constituency’s space for 48 hours after the polls shut, till midnight.

The fee warned that violators of those laws may face penalties, together with imprisonment for as much as two years, a effective of as much as Rs100,000, or each.

As well as, the ballot watchdog calls upon the media and the general public to hitch efforts in guaranteeing a free, honest, and clear election course of.

Candidates are actually bracing to start door-to-door canvassing, actively in search of votes, and organising logistics for election day, all aimed toward persuading voters.

Earlier this month, a notification was issued by the ballot organising authority concerning the organisation of by-elections in a complete of 23 constituencies, together with six NA, 12 Punjab Meeting, 2 KP Meeting, 2 Balochistan Meeting, and one Sindh Meeting constituencies.

A complete of 239 candidates are going to take part within the forthcoming by-elections, together with 50 contenders for NA seats, of which Pakistan Peoples Social gathering (PPP) chief Aseefa Bhutto-Zardari was elected unopposed within the NA-207 constituency.

One other PPP chief Zubair Ahmed Junejo was additionally elected with out going through any contest on the PS-80 Dadu seat.

Subsequently, 23 candidates had been contesting by-polls for KP Meeting seats, 154 candidates for Punjab Meeting seats, and 12 candidates for Balochistan Meeting seats.

Constituencies the place by-polls are being held

The NA seats on which by-elections will happen embrace NA-8 Bajaur, NA-44 Dera Ismail Khan-I, NA-119 Lahore-III, NA-132 Kasur-II, NA-196 Kamber Shadadkot-I and NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad-I.

The elections on NA-8 Bajaur and PK-22 Bajaur-IV had been suspended after a candidate contesting as an Prime Time News24 on these constituencies was shot useless.

In the meantime, NA-44 seat fell vacant after newly-elected KP Chief Minister Ali Amin Gandapur opted to retain his provincial seat from DI Khan.

The NA-119 Lahore-III seat was vacated after Maryam went for the provincial seat which she had received, whereas NA-132 Kasur fell vacant after Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif determined to retain his NA-123 Lahore-VII seat.

PM Shehbaz had additionally received on Punjab Meeting seats — PP-158 and PP-164 — however since he opted his NA seat, the provincial meeting seats had been left vacant.

Furthermore, the NA seats from Sindh’s constituencies, NA-196 Kamber Shadadkot-I and NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad-I, had been vacated after Pakistan Peoples Social gathering (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto retained the seat he received in Larkana, whereas President Asif Ali Zardari gave up his seat following his election as the pinnacle of state.

The opposite provincial meeting seats on which by-polls will probably be held embrace Punjab’s PP-22 Chakwal-Cum-Talagang, PP-32 Gujrat-VI, PP-36 Wazirabad-II, PP-54 Narowal-|, PP-93 Bhakkar-V, PP-139 Sheikhupura-IV, PP-147 Lahore-III, PP-149 Lahore-V, PP-158 Lahore-XIV, PP-164 Lahore-XX, PP-266 Rahim Yar Khan-XII, PP-290 Dera Ghazi Khan-V; KP’s PK-22 Bajaur-IV, PK-91 Kohat-II; Balochistan’s PB-20 Khuzdar-III, PB-22 Lasbela; and Sindh’s PS-80 Dadu-I.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments