Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeLatest NewsSportsWho won in London Marathon?

Who won in London Marathon?

Hundreds of individuals ran within the London Marathon with inspirational tales on April 21, 2024. — Reuters

As hundreds of individuals hit the roads within the capital metropolis of the UK, the victors of the London Marathon began to emerge Sunday and triumphed over the 26.2-mile race.

Within the males’s race, Alexander Mutiso Munyao was the primary to complete the road with Kenenisa Bekele falling behind within the second.

Alexander Mutiso Munyao won mens race in London Marathon. — Reuters
Alexander Mutiso Munyao gained males’s race in London Marathon. — Reuters

Two British athletes, Emile Cairess stood third with a exceptional run whereas his team-mate Mahamed Mahamed got here behind within the fourth place.

Within the ladies’s race, Olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir triumphed in a aggressive run, setting a brand new world document in ladies’s solely race.

Olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir wins womens race in London Marathon. — Reuters
Olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir wins ladies’s race in London Marathon. — Reuters

The most effective feminine runners excitedly crossed the tape in two hours, 16 minutes, and 16 seconds.

The 30-year-old Kenyan broke the document set by Mary Keitany in 2017 by 45 seconds.

In response to Prime Time News24, the ladies’s outcomes are as follows:

  • Peres Jepchirchir (Ken) – 2:16:16
  • Tigst Assefa (Eth) – 2:16:23
  • Joyciline Jepkosgei (Ken) – 2:16:24
  • Mergutu Alemu (Eth) – 2:16:34

Within the race, the high-spirited racers one the wheelchair additionally took half with Switzerland’s Marcel Hug securing a victory within the males’s race for the consecutive fourth yr time, crossing the road in a single hour 28 minutes, and 35 seconds.

Swiss Catherine Debrunne (R) wins womens and Marcel Hug mens London Marathon. — Reuters
Swiss Catherine Debrunne (R) wins ladies’s and Marcel Hug males’s London Marathon. — Reuters

He gained for the fifth time adopted by the American Daniel Romanchuk who stood second and the Brion David Weir showing third.

One other Swiss Catherine Debrunner emerged victor in a ladies’s wheelchair at 1:38:54.

It was the second victory of Debrunner in London and 6 minutes forward of her runner-up Manuela Schar who got here second.

The UK Boston marathon winner Eden Rainbow was seventh with 1:50:39.

Girls’s wheelchair race outcomes are:

  • Catherine Debrunne (Swiss) – 1:38:54
  • Manuela Schar (Swiss) – 1:45:00
  • Tatyana McFadden (US) – 1:45:5 

Males’s wheelchair leads to London Marathon are:

  • Marcel Hug (Sui) – 1:28:35
  • Daniel Romanchuk (USA) – 1:29:06
  • David Weir (GB) – 1:29:58

What’s the Prize in London Marathon?

The UK’s marathon has turned itself into the primary marathon to set prizes for wheelchair runners equal to that of non-disabled races.

The elite winners shall be receiving $55,000 (£43,500) with prize cash within the US {Dollars}.

When first the primary London Marathon?

The primary London Marathon passed off in 1981 with 26.2 miles throughout the capital metropolis. It begins from Greenwich Park and ends on The Mall, the ending line.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments