Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeLatest NewsSportsBismah Maroof announces retirement from cricket - Prime Time News24

Bismah Maroof announces retirement from cricket – Prime Time News24

Former captain Bismah Maroof introduced retirement from cricket with quick impact on Thursday, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) confirmed in a press launch.

The left-hander made her ODI debut in opposition to India in 2006 and her T20I debut in opposition to Eire in 2009. She featured for Pakistan in 276 worldwide matches, which is essentially the most by any Pakistan girls cricketer. She notched up 6,262 worldwide runs, together with 33 fifties, and bagged 80 worldwide wickets.

“I’ve determined to retire from the sport I really like essentially the most. It has been an unbelievable journey, crammed with challenges, victories, and unforgettable recollections,” Bismah mentioned.

“I wish to specific my gratitude to my household, who has supported me all through my cricketing journey, from the very starting till now.

“I additionally wish to prolong my because of the Pakistan Cricket Board for believing in me and offering the platform to showcase my expertise. The assist from the PCB has been invaluable, notably in implementing the first-ever parental coverage for me, which enabled me to symbolize my nation on the highest degree whereas being a mom.

“I’m deeply grateful to the followers whose unwavering assist has been a relentless all through my profession, wherever and every time I represented my nation.

“Lastly, I wish to thank my fellow gamers, who’ve turn into like household to me. The camaraderie we shared each on and off the sector is one thing I’ll cherish eternally.”

Bismah received the gold medal twice within the Asian Video games in 2010 and 2014.

She additionally led the aspect in 96 worldwide matches and represented Pakistan in 4 editions of the ICC Girls’s 50-over World Cup (2009, 2013, 2017, and 2022), captaining the staff within the 2022 version held in New Zealand.

In T20Is, Bismah featured for Pakistan in eight editions of the ICC Girls’s T20 World Cup (2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2020, and 2023) and led the aspect within the 2020 and 2023 editions held in Australia and South Africa, respectively.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments